WF: When Monsters Ruled the Earth!

Synopsis:  It’s a typical day in the life on Monster Island.  Qularr beachheads?  Check.  ARGENT sponsored manimal hunts?  Check.  VIPER strongholds?  Check.  Robotic Tyrannosaurs?  Check.  All this and Mindhunter’s robots too-it’s never a dull moment for Willforge on the island.

The superhero genre is awesome.  I love it because it is actually an amalgamation of genres.  What other single genre includes things like time travel, outer space, alien invasions, journeys to the center of the mind, sorcery, demons, mad scientists, ultratech equipment, parallel dimensions, world-conquerors, and robot dinosaurs?  Any superhero game that’s worth anything embraces it all-and Champions Online does so, to varying extents.

I’d been waiting for this particular stretch to come up-I knew early on when I was doing my “cover shots” that I was gonna have this one on my to-do list.  If I couldn’t get the robot known as Mega-Terak on a screenshot, I’d have to turn in my super-hero fan badge.  Mega-Terak is a tough monster-I’ve seen level 40 characters go down to the fierce robot.  I didn’t expect to survive a fight with this mechanical monstrosity.

Spoiler alert:  I was right.  Good thing that suit Willforge wears is made of metal….  (Less good that he doesn’t wear a helmet.  Concussion city….)

There was a story-xp bonus being given for…well, story quests, so I had every motivation to run missions like crazy and get my character level up a bit.  I did a reasonably good job-I hit level 37, which means it’s about time for me to hit the last of the big zones.  More on that one next time.  I only had one encounter with the minions of my character’s Nemesis, which did drop a Nemesis Clue I could use to pry minions off of the sub at Monster Island.  It continues to lend credence to my personal theory that I’m sure others have already figured out from longer experience, that these tend to drop a lot more frequently if you aren’t flying-and flying might be the cause of some of the despawns I’ve seen when the minions rush to attack-and vanish before you can hit any of them.  More experimentation will be needed here.

All in all, the weekend worked out great, and the end of the journey is in sight.  Which is good, because endings are a big theme of the story arc Willforge will be dealing with next…

Got something to say? Click here!

