Speaking of Exploration…

Recently, I felt it was time to do something in EVE Online that I’d been looking to do for a while now.  It was time to go wormhole diving!

This required a bit of prep first, though.  Wormholes are considered null-sec space, in a manner of speaking.  That manner of speaking would be “if it can see you, it can shoot you and laugh as the bits of your ship, your pod, and your corpse drift away in the cold unforgiving void”.  Obviously, this was not a situation where I wanted to take an expensive ship loaded with expensive tech.

No, this was something that called for “expendable”.  One of the truisms of EVE that you see quoted everywhere is “don’t fly anything you aren’t prepared to lose”.  So I made sure that I could afford to lose this one:  a simple Imicus frigate, with tech one cloaking devices, afterburners (found out I accidentally never trained microwarp drives on this guy-oops), and scan probe launchers.  An afterthought had me slap in a relic and data hacking module; just in case I found something interesting.

My skills for scanning (meaning, the character skills, not necessarily the player’s skills) are pretty good, so I wasn’t concerned about probe strength or anything like that.  I figured I had decent odds of finding a wormhole somewhere.  And then I expected to go in them.  My plan was to go as far into wormhole space as I could, or failing that, into space far, far, far away from home.  Wormholes can lead anywhere, after all-and a new wormhole in wormhole space could land me in the wilds of null-sec just as easily as hi-sec.

I was set-I had already taken the additional precaution of using one of my expendable jump-clones, without any implants.  So I had an expendable clone body flying an expendable ship equipped with expendable tech.  The cash it set me back could be made up in one, maybe two easy level 3 combat missions.  I didn’t bother insuring it; my expectation was that it was space-dust the moment I undocked, and if I got back with it intact, I’d call it a bonus.

It didn’t take me long to scan down a wormhole somewhere, and go right on in.  The interesting part about wormhole space is that it has no “Local” chat tab-or more precisely, that tab doesn’t tell you how many people are in that portion of space.  So if nobody sees my arrival, nobody knows I’m there.  Being the paranoid sort, though, I made sure to warp away from the wormhole and find a nice quiet spot to scan while under cloak.  Found another wormhole, it led to another wormhole system.  Found lots of other things on scan, too, but since this was effectively a probe/exploration ship, not a combat ship, it would be a really dumb thing for me to try to get to those site in wormhole space and deal with the NPC Sleeper ships which I’m told are pretty rough to start with.

The Other Side

In the second wormhole pocket, I found another wormhole-but it led to null-sec space.  Well, this was what I wanted, wasn’t it?  So I went into the wormhole, and appeared about fifty-some jumps away from my home space.

And it was empty.  Null-sec isn’t like wormhole space-you can see who’s in the area with you on the Local chat tab.  I was it.  I’d appeared in a dead-end system, one stargate in and out.  I still took precautions of creating a safe-spot and then cloaked up and scanned for stuff.  I found a data site, so I warped on over and hacked upon some of the containers there.  It wasn’t exactly huge profits, but it did introduce me to some twists to the hacking game that I hadn’t seen in hi-sec, like one of the nodes that strengthened other defensive nodes.  That made life rough until I caught onto what was going on.  I didn’t do badly, though.  I thought about returning home via the wormhole…but what’s the fun in that?  The whole point was to see what I could see, right?  So I warped out.

Hacker’s Paradise? Not Exactly.

This system was NOT uninhabited.  There were about eight other ships there, and they knew I was there as much as I knew they were there.  Not a word showed up on local, but my assumption was that they were all allied with each other-and they would be looking for me!  So I again went out of my way to find a safe spot-constantly moving and warping-and then cloaked up and scanned.  Unfortunately-or fortunately!-there really wasn’t much to speak of in the area.  Not even another wormhole.  So the next trick was to get out before they caught up with me.

That was where I made my first mistake.  I warped to a gate about 50km out, figuring to see if they’d set up any warp disruption bubbles or something similar to stop me from warping directly to the gate.  Of course, this would mean I would be exposed.  I can’t warp while cloaked in this set-up.  I saw there was no bubble, so I began flying toward it, afterburners blazing.  This was a mistake.  I was still about 30km out when I saw the first ship warp into the area.  Maybe I was scanned out, or maybe they were sending guards to all the gates, but I was spotted now.  Second mistake made at this point-and it was related to the first.  And that mistake was this:  I should have warped away back to a safespot-or really, ANYWHERE other than trying to get to the gate.  By the time I realized this mistake, reinforcements showed up and I was being scrambled-there would be no escape for me.

Boom.  Bye bye, Imicus starship.

But, amazingly, not bye bye pod!  I’d already managed to target another stargate so that the moment my pod ejected, I was warping it away-so I escaped death!  (Of course, I lost the stuff I’d hacked out, but it wasn’t exactly earth-shattering profits.)  So it was time to make my way back to home space-or perhaps near it.  I decided that this was as good a time as any to have a jump clone situated in Jita, the biggest marketplace system in EVE.  This did mean, though, that I’d need to get through a very lengthy stretch of null and low-sec space.

It actually wasn’t as hard as it sounded.  Once I’d evaded the guys who blew up my ship-they didn’t really pursue, since they had no idea where I’d gone by then-a large portion of null-sec was empty.  At least until I neared low-sec.  On one of my attempts to get out, I hit a warp disruption bubble-and there were active ships not far.  I’d reacted quickly enough, though, to get my pod out of the bubble and warping to one of the other objects in the system.  Checking my map, I worked out where to go to warp directly to the gate without intersecting the bubble-it’s HARD to cover all the access points to a gate-and warped directly to the gate from there.  I think I caught someone going “What the hell?!” as I blew through and warped out.  There may have been some pursuit briefly, but I was well positioned on the other side, and I continued my journey.

Ultimately, I did make it out, and I did make it to Jita.  It was a heck of a trip, and it’s something I’ll likely try again soon for the kicks.  I’d have liked to get deeper into wormhole space, but if I end up somewhere else…well, that’s the whole point of exploring, isn’t it?

Got something to say? Click here!

