A Year and a Day

That’s how long it has been since I set up the Last Camp on Lok and closed the book on SWG, seemingly for good.  I left with a lot of bad feelings towards the developers and that persisted for several months.  When I came back a while ago, it was in spite of the devs, not because of them.

I spent a great deal of time on the Ranger forums-that’s the one set up AFTER the profession became extinct, not the ones closed down after NGE.  We’d spent time watching the progression of the game, occasionally posting rumors, making note of the dev activities (and generally mocking the dumber devs).

A lot can happen in a year and a day.  When someone asks if things are better now than they were a year ago (I’m rounding my numbers), I’d have to say, “yes”.  If the NGE had continued as it had been put in, I doubt I would have ever come back.  But the expertise trees, the target locks, and the gradual return of some content-as well as hints and concepts that could actually work-convinced me to stick around for the long haul.  The devs seem to be paying more attention to the player base now, even though they still fail in some cases.  It’s almost as if they realize just how much money they lost on the NGE fiasco.

But the damage they did might be something they’ll never recover from.  The rangers are of the general opinion that the game will never be as good as it was-and that in fact it still hasn’t moved much from that dark day almost a year ago.  Most of them have moved on; they won’t trust SOE with a cent ever again.  They can’t-or won’t-believe that things have improved a great deal, with the possibility of further improvement down the road.

As far as I’m concerned, there is a long way to go-but they’ve come a long way, too.

Ok.  Enough with the deep thoughts.  SWG progress:  Coreth has started up again with his Ace goals.  I’m not sure if I am having difficulty because of equipment, loss of skills, or the way the devs made the pilot advancement tree (whoever thought to put droid commands at the end of each tier should be strung up), but I’ve had trouble almost (but not quite) worthy of the gunboat trauma on my first ace way back when.  Need to investigate if there is a better ship I could be using.  Currently trying to quickly get through Black Epsilon; I can take my time after that.  Zhaven has progressed to level 30 and is still working Naboo Legacy.  WoW progress:  no new levels for Gilraen, but much closer to his next one-finished a pirate quest, and a run in SM netted him a much better shield.  Might start using sword-and-board for a bit instead of Ravager; Ravager’s usefulness might be nearing an end.

Got something to say? Click here!

